Podcasts

I seem to be spending quite a bit of time in my car lately, whether its my commute to work or travelling to the farm. Rather than listening to the inane chat on local radio stations, I’ve been choosing instead to listen to podcasts. There are a couple that I’ve really been enjoying:

At Home With

I’ve been following beauty and lifestyle vloggers Lily Pebbles and Anna Gardner of The Anna Edit on YouTube for a number of years now, and I really enjoy the content that they produce. Just recently they’ve launched a podcast series called ‘At Home With’, and in each episode they visit the home of their guest for an informal chat. Quite a few of the episodes have a beauty & skincare slant, which is to be expected given that the girls were originally beauty bloggers, with guests such as Lisa Eldridge, Liz Earle and Georgie Cleeve (founder of Oskia skincare). However other guests have included Giovanna Fletcher, Madeleine Shaw and Glasgow’s Kate Johnson (from Kate La Vie). Each episode is around 30 minutes, and listeners are taken on a tour round the guest’s home whilst they chat. I’ve been listening on iTunes where there are no accompanying photos (head to Acast if you want to see the pics), but Lily and Anna make an effort to describe their surroundings. The podcasts are very different to the YouTube videos I am used to, to me the podcasts seem to be more grown-up. Lily and Anna are good at steering the conversation, and each episode has been interesting to listen to. The podcasts provide some easy listening for my commute, and I’ve come away with some recommendations of products to buy. I’m yet to give the Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel a whirl, but after hearing the background to the brand I’m keen to try it out. I’ve also put Giovanna’s new book ‘Happy Mum, Happy Baby’ onto my list of things to read.

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 22.06.14

Dirty Mother Pukka

Another podcast series that I’ve been following is Dirty Mother Pukka. The podcast features two panels, Anna (Mother Pukka) and two of her friends, and then Anna’s husband Matt (Papa Pukka) with two of his mates… during each episode the panels discuss a topic surrounding parenting. The girls typically go first, followed by the gents. Episode 1 starts with B.C. (before child) and then listeners are taken on a journey from trying to get pregnant, pregnancy, the birth (Episode 5 has the hilarious title of Splashdown!) and then when the new baby arrives. Each episode is chaired to an extent by Anna and Matt with their respective panels, but it isn’t forced and the conversation is just like listening to a group of friends chatting honestly about ‘making and raising a human’. The podcasts are really amusing; I’m sure that other cars that pass me by must be wondering why I’m laughing out loud! As a parent myself, I can totally relate to a lot of the content.

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 22.04.47

The Scummy Mummies Podcast

There are over a hundred episodes of this podcast… 101 as I write this post! So I’ve got plenty of listening to do. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get onto the podcast bandwagon… they’re great! Lots of guests in this series that I recognise from social media… Mother of Daughters, Hurrah for Gin, Slummy Single Mummy to name a few. Lots of giggles to be had with these episodes too!

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 22.07.44

I’ve also been listening to some audiobooks, currently I’m mid-way through Raising Boys – trying to get some advice for parenting my nearly 8 year old son who is hard work right now. Perhaps I’ll post separately on this another time…

