Farm Life

You may well have spotted from my Instagram that I’ve been spending quite a bit of time in the countryside over the past few months. If you haven’t put two and two together, then let me fill you in… it just so happens that my new manย is a farmer.

I have always lived near city centres… whether that was Aberdeen growing up and into my teens, then Edinburgh in my early twenties and finally Glasgow. When I was very little in Aberdeen, we lived on the outskirts of the city so despite being a short bus journey into the centre, we still had fields to play in out the back of our house… best of both worlds really. At the time I had really bad hay fever, so playing in amongst the hay bales wasn’t always the best decision! However, I think I must have been about 12 years old when we moved closer to the city and the new house was on a busy main road. Ever since then I’ve been able to walk to amenities from my home… shops, cafes, bars… I genuinely didn’t think that I’d like to be out in the country where there is very little on your doorstep.

How wrong was I though! I’ve been loving the farm life… possibly because the weather has been reasonable and the light evenings certainly help. I’m not sure I’d be so keen when it’s dark and miserable outside. I’m perhaps not the best farm hand… yet… but I’m certainly willing to give it a try! I’ve been bottle feeding baby lambs, herding cattle, riding the tractor and generally getting stuck in!

If you couldn’t already tell, I’m just so happy!

2 thoughts on “Farm Life”

Leave a Reply

