Solo Day Out, Glasgow

Today I have had one of the best kiddie-free days ever.

I started the day at James Dun’s House Aveda Salon on Hanover Street for a hair colour & cut. My hair was in desperate need of a pick-me up. The previous dark grey/purple that I had done in November had washed out to a rose gold colour, and my roots were getting pretty bad. I was keen to try a paler grey colour, but I’m told it’s very high maintenance and we would have needed to bleach my whole head. The Crohn’s medication has taken it’s toll on my tresses, and bleaching it all would not be the best of ideas. So instead I’ve chosen to go back to blonde… for now.

With my new hair style, I headed to Princes Square to meet my friend Katie for lunch. Before she arrived, I had a browse in a few of the shops (I’m going to a black tie dinner next week, and I’m not sure what to wear!). We had a quick catch up at Zizzi over yummy chicken and prosciutto salads, and then I had to dash back to my car as I had an important appointment to get to…

I had booked myself onto a Flower Crown workshop with Little Botanica (www.littlebotanica.com) and it was great fun! I struggled to find the venue (12 Cook Street, Glasgow), but if you come from Pollokshaws Road then you can’t miss it… it’s on the right as soon as you turn onto Cook Street – the big blue gates. Anyway, the space is just gorgeous – it’s beautifully styled and very Instagram worthy… lots of fairy lights, flowers and succulents! Included in the 2 hour workshop was Tantrum Doughnuts and Hot Chocolate. (Now, I know these items aren’t on my new restricted diet, but I allowed myself to enjoy them as a once off).

The girls were fantastic hosts and teachers. We were taught how to wire flowers initially, and then we started to put together our flower crowns… stopping every so often to check the progress in the mirror (and every time I knelt down my knees cracked!). I really enjoyed the process of picking out the flowers and foliage, and choosing the placement of these on the crown. And what I came away with was a beautiful headpiece.

Plus, I got to try Tantrum Doughnuts (amazing!) and there was a little hot chocolate bar set up too with a variety of toppings and sauces. It was literally so good! The workshop cost £45, and I think it was great value for money.

img_5694

img_5726

The girls also made me a cute teeny weeny flower crown for my daughter’s teddy bear… just so adorable!!

img_5718

I’m definitely going to go back to Little Botanica… I’d love to attend one of their Terrarium Workshops and I’m putting that on my list (in Wunderlist, Solo Days Out!).

img_5722

I kept the crown on as long as possible, but I’m now sat in bed, watching Crazy Ex Girlfriend on Netflix and I’ve taken it off *sad face*

 

Leave a Reply

