5 Things to Do in Glasgow for Kids at Christmas

I’ve got a series of festive activities that I do every year for myself… watch Love Actually (check!), watch The Holiday (check!), go ice skating (check!), visit the Christmas markets (check!), drink mulled wine and eat mince pies (I thankfully managed to do this before starting on the restricted diet!)… but I don’t have that many traditions for with the kids.

Anyway, with the school holidays looming, I thought I put together some suggestions for things to do in Glasgow, traditions that we do already as well as new ones to start.

Roller skating with a (pretend) reindeer at Roller Stop holiday disco

My two love Roller Stop (as do I… I used to love roller skating as a kid). It’s a great family activity, and is even better because it’s indoor so if it is miserable and raining outside (as it often is in Glasgow) it doesn’t matter! I think this will be a new tradition of ours.

Mrs Claus Christmas Party at Pollok House

The National Trust are known for their impressive Christmas events. We did go and see Mrs Claus at Pollok House a number of years ago now, and it was excellent. I’ve spotted online that there is a Christmas Party happening on Christmas Eve – it looks fabulous!!

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-19-51-03

Mrs Claus

Visit George Square, admire all the Christmas lights and go on the fairground rides

One tradition we have done for the past few years is printable Golden Tickets (a la Polar Express). We all hop in the car with drinks and snacks and go for a drive around George Square to see the twinkly decorations. Now the kids are a bit older, I might be inclined to park up and take them into the square so they can actually go on the rides instead of just viewing them from the car window!!

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-19-48-27

Royal Exchange Square

New Christmas decorations 

Each year we buy a new snow globe, and I also buy a few extra baubles. I love John Lewis, M&S or Dobbies – they all have a great selection. If you are feeling crafty, perhaps you could make your own decorations… salt dough perhaps or you can buy kits like these plastic sun catchers from HobbyCraft (there is a huge HobbyCraft at Glasgow Fort) or paintable ceramic at Cafe Ceramico, East Kilbride.

Hot Chocolate, Marshmallows and Cream

Obviously not for me anymore, but the kids absolutely love a good hot chocolate and there are plenty around at this time of year. One of our favourite haunts for all things chocolate is Tribeca, and I think we’ll be headed to this cafe for pancakes and hot chocolate at some point over the festive season. Another option is to create a hot chocolate bar in your home… stock up on the essentials, invite some friends over and have a Christmas moviethon… we just love Prep & Landing, Arthur Christmas and The Snowman.

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-19-44-53

Festive Hot Chocolate

What are your favourite things to do in the Christmas holidays?

 

Leave a Reply

