Review – The Cook School Scotland

I had the most amazing day out at The Cook School Scotland, which is in Kilmarnock, Ayrshire.

I was invited along to try their newest day class, “The Family Meal’.

The whole day was superb and very well organised. We arrived to freshly baked scones with butter and jam and a cup of tea/coffee. What a great start to a Sunday! Then we had an introduction from the team and made our way to our individual stations.

On the menu was:

  • The Perfect Roast Chicken
  • Chicken Milanese
  • Butter Chicken Curry
  • BBQ Wings and Drumsticks
  • Chicken Stock
  • Braised rice and baked sweet potato wedges
  • Chocolate brownies

Vanessa taught us how to joint a chicken – something that I had never done before. I’m also a little squeamish, so wasn’t sure how I would get on – but it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I’m super impressed with myself!!

The day was split into sections, with a good mix of hands-on cooking and demos, as well as a few stops for refreshments and a trip to the on-site shop.

At the end of the day, we sat down as a group to enjoy the food we had created… washed down with a glass of wine (hurrah for not having to drive!). We also had plenty food to take away with us too. I ended up having enough leftovers for lunch and dinner the following day.

The day itself costs £95, which I think is fantastic value for money. If chicken isn’t your bag, then there are also a huge variety of other classes from Greek Day to Thai Street Food. I’m having difficulty deciding what to try next… but it’s safe to say that I will most definitely be going back.

There is also the cutest kid’s kitchen and they host children’s birthday parties (£200 for up to 14 children). I know my two would love this!

 

 

Leave a Reply

