The drugs don’t work…

I have Crohn’s Disease… can’t remember if I’ve mentioned it already on Ethel Explores, but I certainly wrote about it over on Glasgow Mummy. My diagnosis story is here if you are interested to find out more.

In November last year, after a year of active inflammation, my consultant decided to start me on HUMIRA, in addition to the azathioprine which I am still taking. Initially the results were amazing, and I managed to cope well with the self injecting. However, the effects didn’t last long and we don’t know why. My blood levels of the drug are therapeutic, and I haven’t developed antibodies against the drug either. Rather frustrating!

I had a bad day on Friday last week, and my IBD nurse admitted me into the day unit at the hospital for observation and urgent blood tests.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 20.42.39

I was discharged 4 hours later with a box of prednisolone tablets to start taking. This is only the third time I’ve had to resort to steroids, and personally I hate them because of the horrible side effects (insomnia and weight gain anyone?!). That said, I know they will sort out my current flare quickly.

The next step is to let the HUMIRA wash out, and I will be starting infliximab in a fortnight.

 

Leave a Reply

