Review – Smashbox Primer Oil

I’m not new to using oils on my face; two of my favourite skincare products are the Merumaya Everything Everywhere Beauty Oil and Origins Energy Gentle Cleansing Oil.

However, an oil primer is a new concept. Smashbox’s new photo finish primer oil is 50% primer, and 50% oil. 15 essential, lipid-rich plant plant oils penetrate and instantly moisturise deep into the skin creating a seamless canvas and a dewy finish. You can also add a drop to your foundation, or even use on your cuticles or split ends!

I’ve been trying the product for a few weeks now, and have fallen in love! I’ve got pretty dry skin and can find that if I’m not careful my foundation can look rubbish as my skin underneath is dehydrated. However the Smashbox primer oil is fantastic. I apply a few drops with my fingers, let it absorb and then put my foundation on over the top. What a difference it makes, and my make-up also lasts much longer too. At £28 for a 30 mL bottle, it might seem pricey; however, a little goes a long way and I can see this bottle lasting quite some time. I have a few other primers in my make-up collection, but this is now definitely my top pick.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 20.52.01

I received a complimentary sample for the purpose of this review. Opinions are honest, and are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

