Skincare update: Cleansers

My skin has been a bit of a mess lately… I’m putting it down to hormones, stress and illness (although I don’t feel particularly stressed out thankfully, but I do have a lot on my plate).  I’ve got a few different cleansers that I’ve been using and I do make the effort to make sure that my skin is clean each night before I go to bed. I thought I’d do a quick round-up of what’s on my bathroom shelf…

Merumaya, Melting Cleansing Balm, £15.50

I really like the Merumaya cleansing balm – it’s got a lovely thick texture that feels great on the skin. It’s fantastic at melting away make-up, even smokey eyes and mascara, although I’ve found it to be a little stingy on occasions if I’m using it on my eyes. I’ve repurchased this a few times, and I think it’s great value for money.

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.55.02
Merumaya Cleansing Balm

Algenist, Genius Ultimate Anti-Aging Melting Cleanser, £32 at Space NK

I decided to try another cleansing balm and picked this Algenist one from Space NK. It’s green in colour and has a similar consistency to the Merumaya balm; perhaps a little thinner. It’s not stingy around my eyes, but I don’t find it as effective as removing eye make-up and I always need to use a separate eye make-up remover afterwards to take away the final traces. For the price, I’m not sure I’ll be repurchasing this.

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.41.57
Algenist melting cleanser

Origins, Clean Energy Gentle Cleansing Oil, £23.50

As the name suggests, this is an oil rather than a balm. It is effective and I really like this product. My only complaint would be the packaging as it’s a bit fiddly to get the lid off and on again when you’ve got the product in your hand. A pump bottle would make it easier to use.

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.52.32
Origins cleansing oil

The Body Shop, Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter, £13

This cleansing butter is thicker in consistency to the products above. It feels luxurious and I think is good value for money. It’s gentle on the skin although it can make my eyes a little blurry after use for a short time. It’s never my first choice of cleanser, and to be honest I’m not sure why that is.

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.51.33
The Body Shop cleansing butter

With my skin being a little spotty lately, I’ve been using an acid cleanser after a first cleanse with one of the products above. I’ve used up the Elizabeth Arden Pro Gentle Facial Cleanser but I’ve now got the Clarifying Foaming Cleanser which has lactic acid and salicylic acid. I also have a selection of Alpha-H Liquid Gold skincare products that I’m trying. I’m not getting immediate results, which I guess no product can promise, but hopefully after a few more weeks my skin will be back on track!

Elizabeth Arden Pro, Gentle Facial Cleanser, £26 at Ellen Conlin Hair

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.48.59
Elizabeth Arden Pro cleanser

Alpha-H, Liquid Gold Skin Renewal Wash, £36.95 at Cult Beauty

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 19.45.05
Alpha-H skin renewal wash

 

Leave a Reply

