Festive Fun in Glasgow

At the weekend I had a lovely afternoon in the city centre soaking up some of the festive atmosphere, thanks to Glasgow Loves Christmas.

I started with lunch at Sugar Dumpling in Princes Square. I have been to this Caribbean BBQ and bar once before with a group of blogger friends and I was keen to visit again. Despite Princes Square being busy, Sugar Dumpling was very quiet. However that was no reflection on the food which I personally thought was great. I had ordered the chicken burger with sweet potato fries and it was the best chicken burger I’ve had. Normally they can be a bit dry, but the chicken was cooked beautifully. I liked all the little dips that came with the meal too although I avoided the super hot one! I also had a coconut ice cream which was presented really well and was yummy! We had a two course lunch with soft drinks for two for Β£35, which I thought was good value for money given how delicious the food was. The restaurant is really quirky and would be great for a group of friends for burgers and cocktails before hitting the town.

  

  
  
After lunch I did a spot of Christmas shopping as I am still not fully organised! (This is not like me!!) I also treated myself to a new mascara in Space NK. Princes Square was very Christmassy, with a choir singing in the open area at the bottom. It was lovely!

After a pit stop at Starbucks for a hot chocolate and brownie, we went ice skating at George Square. Last year I went skating with the kids (which was hard work!) so it was nice to be able to enjoy the music and the atmosphere at the rink as I went round. Thankfully I didn’t fall, although it was busy and some of the kids had no concept of cutting in front of you so there were a few close calls!  

   
 By the time we got our bags we had missed the Christmas market as the stands were closing up for the night, so I’ll just have to save that for my next visit!

Have you been enjoying the festivities in Glasgow this month?

I received a complimentary lunch and ice skating for two persons. As always, opinions are honest and are my own.

Leave a Reply

